G-Shock GMC-2500 and GAC-2500 Go Analog, Alongside an $80,000 MRG-D5000
G-Shock GMC-2500 and GAC-2500 Go Analog, Alongside an $80,000 MRG-D5000
The G-Shock GMC-2500 and the GAC-2500 are Casio's first analog G-Shocks built directly on the 1983 DW-5000C. Casio announced the nine-reference 2500 series on October 22, 2026. US prices reported at launch run from $145 for the resin GAC-2500 to $350 for the steel-braceleted GMC-2500D. Casio also lists the MRG-D5000, a 20-piece MR-G with blue sapphire parts, at $80,000 in the US and ¥11,000,000 in Japan. This article covers both and notes where sources disagree.
At a glance
| Detail | Specification |
|---|---|
| Announced | October 22, 2026 (Casio press release) |
| References | GAC-2500-1A, -3A, -7A, -9A (resin); GMC-2500-1A, -1A8, GMC-2500G-9A; GMC-2500D-1A, -1A2 (steel bracelet) |
| Display | Analog; small seconds hand at 9 o'clock; Multi-Mission Date window at 3 o'clock |
| Case (GMC-2500) | 46.7 x 43.8 x 12.9 mm; resin and bio-based resin case, stainless steel bezel (G-Central spec page) |
| Module and battery | Module 5757; CR1025, about two years, about five with seconds-hand sleep (G-Central spec page) |
| Water resistance | 200m, shock resistant, mineral glass (G-Central spec page) |
| US prices | GAC-2500 $145; GMC-2500 $280 to $300; GMC-2500D $350 |
| Release | Japan and Asia in November 2026; US GAC-2500 reported for November 6; other regions not confirmed by Casio |
| MRG-D5000 | $80,000 (US), ¥11,000,000 (Japan, about $69,500); 20 pieces worldwide; Japan release December 1 |
What the G-Shock GMC-2500 and GAC-2500 are
Casio's October 22 press release describes the line as analog G-Shocks that inherit the form of the DW-5000C, the first G-Shock of 1983, which was built on the idea of a watch that would not break when dropped. The case has softer, more rounded contours than the square digital original, and the dial is kept simple.
There are nine references in three groups. The four GAC-2500 models (black, green, white and yellow) have resin bands. The GMC-2500 models add a metal bezel, with a resin band on the -1A and -1A8 and a gold-tone version, the GMC-2500G-9A. The GMC-2500D-1A and -1A2 have a stainless steel bracelet. Enthusiasts have nicknamed the series the CasioNaut for its resemblance to a Patek Philippe Nautilus; that nickname is not Casio's.
CasioNaut: the nickname and why it is not an Ana-Digi watch
Fans and outlets such as Gear Patrol and Man of Many call the 2500 series the CasioNaut , a play on the Patek Philippe Nautilus, in the way the GA-2100 became the CasiOak after the Audemars Piguet Royal Oak. Gear Patrol reports that Casio itself points to its own 1983 5000 series as the visual reference and has been coy about any Nautilus link, so the nickname is a fan label, not a Casio name. The octagonal-in-oval case with pronounced side ears is the visual cue behind the comparison.
The 2500 series is fully analog. It has no LCD: a small seconds subdial at 9 o'clock and a three-segment Multi-Mission Date window at 3 o'clock are the only extras, and Watchonista calls it the first fully analog G-Shock. That sets it apart from Casio's analog-digital (Ana-Digi) G-Shocks, which combine hands with a liquid crystal display. Our history of analog-digital watches explains the difference. Casio also introduced a separate analog-digital pair, the GM-S2110NS starry-sky models, in early November 2026, and has not confirmed them for the US.
Update, November 6, 2026. Watchonista reports the nine-reference line went on sale on November 6, with the US price range given as $145 to $350, and Singapore retailers list a November 7 start. Casio describes it as a regular, not limited, line. Regional dates still differ, so check Casio's site for your country.
Features and specifications
The layout is a two-eye design. A small seconds hand sits at 9 o'clock and can be stopped to save power, and a Multi-Mission Date window at 3 o'clock shows the date, stopwatch minutes and setting information depending on the function in use. Once the year, month and day are set, the calendar is fully automatic.
Casio's press release does not give sizes, water resistance or battery details. The G-Central spec page for the GMC-2500 lists a medium case measuring 46.7 x 43.8 x 12.9 mm, module 5757, a CR1025 battery rated at about two years (about five with the sleep function), mineral glass and 200m water resistance. T-Break and Gizmodo Japan also report 200m (20 bar). G-Central's hands-on says the GMC-2500D is 2.6mm shorter than a GM-2100.
G-Central also describes a Magnetic Holding Structure in which the minute hand self-adjusts after hard impacts. We could not read Casio's own product pages, which returned errors, so treat the specifications above as secondary until checked.
GMC-2500 and GAC-2500 prices and release dates
US pricing is reported by GSMGoTech, attributing Notebookcheck, and matches G-Central's spec pages: GAC-2500 at $145, GMC-2500-1A and -1A8 at $280, GMC-2500G-9A at $300 and the GMC-2500D at $350. GSMGoTech lists euro prices of EUR 129, 249, 269 and 319 for the same groups. In Japan, Gizmodo Japan reports prices from ¥20,900 to ¥49,500 including tax, with the GMC-2500D-1AJF at ¥49,500, and a November 7 release.
Timing differs by source. G-Central says Casio announced a November release in Japan and Asia, with other regions to be announced. GSMGoTech reports the GAC-2500 for the US on November 6 and the GMC-2500 for the US in October, and a G-Central headline also cites an estimated US date of November 6. Casio's release does not state a US date, so those are reports, not confirmation.
Most of the series sits under $500, which makes it relevant to buyers browsing our best watches under $500 guide.
The MRG-D5000: Casio's $80,000 sapphire G-Shock
The MRG-D5000 is a separate, far smaller release. G-Central reports Casio's US site lists it at $80,000, limited to 20 pieces worldwide, with the sale open only to registered applicants, one of whom is chosen at random. In Japan it is ¥11,000,000 including tax, sold by lottery from December 1, according to Impress Watch and G-Central. Notebookcheck converts that to about $69,520, which implies a rate near 158 yen to the dollar when it published in early October.
Notebookcheck lists a titanium case with a DLC finish, 51.1 x 43.2 x 16.5 mm and 121 g, 200m water resistance, Tough Solar and Multiband 6 radio sync, and no Bluetooth. Impress Watch names Gallium Tough Solar and says it is the first G-Shock with sapphire parts in a shock-resistant structure. The outlets disagree on how much is sapphire. Gear Patrol says the whole case is blue sapphire, while Notebookcheck, G-Central and Impress describe a sapphire bezel (plus a sapphire caseback, per Impress), and Notebookcheck and G-Central a titanium case. We follow the latter group.
What the two launches mean
Interpretation. Casio is using the 2500 series to extend the shapes it already sells. G-Central suggests the company hopes it becomes a fifth classic G-Shock line after the 5000/5600, 6900, 110 and 2100 series. That is G-Central's reading, not a Casio statement. The price spread, from $145 resin to $350 steel, looks designed to cover entry buyers and those wanting a bracelet.
The MRG-D5000 sits at the other end. At $80,000 for a single US unit (G-Central) or six (Gear Patrol, which calls the figure alleged), it works as a showcase rather than a product most buyers will see. The sources conflict on the US allocation, and we could not settle it.
For readers who want the background, the DW-5000C story and the later lines are covered in our G-Shock history and GA-2100 history.
G-Shock 2500 series and MRG-D5000 at a glance
| Model | Build | US price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GAC-2500 (4 colours) | Resin case and band | $145 | G-Central, GSMGoTech |
| GMC-2500-1A / -1A8 | Metal bezel, resin band | $280 | GSMGoTech, G-Central |
| GMC-2500G-9A | Gold-tone, resin band | $300 | GSMGoTech, G-Central |
| GMC-2500D-1A / -1A2 | Steel bezel and bracelet | $350 | GSMGoTech, G-Central |
| MRG-D5000 | Titanium case, sapphire bezel (per most outlets) | $80,000 | G-Central, Gear Patrol |
Background
Casio's first G-Shock, the DW-5000C, appeared in 1983. Its later development is covered in our Casio history, with detail on the G-Shock, the G-Shock 5600 and the GA-2100.Sources: Casio Computer (press release, October 22, 2026), G-Central, GSMGoTech, T-Break, Gizmodo Japan, Impress Watch, Notebookcheck and Gear Patrol, all retrieved October 29, 2026. Casio's product pages and some outlets returned errors, so case sizes, module and battery data rest on secondary sources. The yen conversion uses Notebookcheck's figure of about $69,520 for ¥11,000,000. Prices are indicative and may vary by market and tax.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the G-Shock CasioNaut?
CasioNaut is the fan nickname for the G-Shock 2500 series (GAC-2500, GMC-2500 and GMC-2500D), a play on the Patek Philippe Nautilus. Casio points to its 1983 DW-5000C as the design reference.
Is the CasioNaut an Ana-Digi or analog-digital G-Shock?
No. The 2500 series is fully analog, with hands and a date window but no LCD, and Watchonista calls it the first fully analog G-Shock. Casio's separate GM-S2110NS starry-sky watches are the analog-digital models.
How much do the G-Shock GMC-2500 and GAC-2500 cost?
In the US, the GAC-2500 is reported at $145, the GMC-2500 at $280 to $300 and the GMC-2500D at $350, per GSMGoTech and G-Central. In Japan, Gizmodo Japan lists ¥20,900 to ¥49,500.
When is the G-Shock GMC-2500 release date?
Casio announced it on October 22, 2026, with a November release in Japan and Asia and other regions to be announced. GSMGoTech reports the GAC-2500 for the US on November 6.
Is the G-Shock GMC-2500 based on the DW-5000C?
Yes. Casio says the new analog watches carry forward the form of the DW-5000C, the first G-Shock, from 1983.
What is the difference between the GMC-2500 and GAC-2500?
The GAC-2500 is resin, while the GMC-2500 adds a metal bezel and the GMC-2500D a stainless steel bracelet.
How water resistant is the G-Shock GMC-2500?
T-Break and the G-Central spec page both give 200 meters. Casio's press release does not state it.
What battery does the G-Shock GMC-2500 use?
The G-Central spec page lists a CR1025 with about two years of life, or about five with the seconds-hand sleep function.
How much is the G-Shock MRG-D5000?
Casio US lists it at $80,000, per G-Central, and Japan at ¥11,000,000 including tax, about $69,520 per Notebookcheck.
How many G-Shock MRG-D5000 watches are being made?
Twenty worldwide, according to G-Central, Impress Watch and Notebookcheck. Sources differ on how many go to the US, with G-Central saying one and Gear Patrol six.
Is the G-Shock MRG-D5000 made of sapphire?
Sources disagree. Gear Patrol says the whole case is blue sapphire, while Notebookcheck and G-Central describe a titanium case with sapphire bezel parts.








